Floyd Landis wins the Tour!

Floyd Landis, Oscar Pereiro Sio, Andr̩as Kl̦denFloyd Landis hangs on to win the 93rd Tour de France, entering the ranks of only 3 Americans to ever win the race РGreg LeMond, Lance Armstrong and now Floyd Landis.

This years tour was marked with great victories and stunning finishes. Thor Hushovd marks this tour by winning the sprint for both the Prologue (stage 1) and the final stage along the Champs-Élysées.

American racers have come a long way in the past twenty years. Since 1981 when Jonathan Boyer finished 32nd in the tour, American racers have begun to change the face of the Tour and force the world to take them seriously on the international circuit. In the past 20 years, 11 of those years were won by American racers. There have been 33 Americans racing in the tour since 1981, among those names are some of the most influential riders in American Bicycle Racing. Davis Phinney, Andy Hampsten, Chris Carmichael, Alexi Grewal, only to name a few.

Way to go Floyd! See you next year….

%d bloggers like this: